IVAI Logo IVAI - International Vocal Arts Institute Click here for the most current issue of Notes from IVAI
  Home About Programs Faculty Alumni Application Contact Gallery Links
    - Robert Lipsyte and Louise B. Morris of The New York Times
   
Links

The following sites may be of interest to you:

Getting from Here to There
by Joan Dornemann


I love working with singers. I am so fortunate that, entirely by accident, I happened upon the career of opera coach. I think we literally never really do know what is just around the corner and what opportunity lies waiting for us, if we just have enough courage to recognize it and to take it.

It is a wonderful career. In more than 25 years at the Metropolitan Opera, I have had the privilege of working with the greatest singersóand with beginning singers as well, during my time as part of the Metropolitan Opera competition. What I have never come across is a perfect singer. Iíve known many singers who are perfectly terrific, and perfectly thrilling, and perfectly wonderful. But perfect? No. But I know this is a perfectly wonderful time for singers! Never mind the economic situation.

We have increased access to more information for young singers than ever before. We have more teachers who are willing to share everything they ever learned, which was not the case some 25 years ago. We have more young artist programs. We have more summer programs.

As singers, you have more opportunities to make contacts, to treat yourself as a professional person, to avail yourself of the programs that really give you the opportunity to become a professional person, to work as one and to live as one. Twenty years ago, you couldnít get a book with all the phonetics written into it. You had to do all that work yourself. You could not avail yourself of all the information available on the Internet.

I believe we need to have more purpose in the preparation of our young singers. Singers need to know that the purpose of an aria and opera is to perform it. Thatís what itís all about, performing. Itís about your communication with an audience. Itís about your ability to make music, to understand the style, your ability to bring out in your performance that which brings the opera to life for the listener.
Read More




Acceptd https://getacceptd.com/
Classical Net www.classical.net
Classical Singer www.classicalsinger.com
Classical Voice www.classicalvoice.org
Grove Dictionary www.grovemusic.com
Metropolitan Opera www.metoperafamily.org
Musical America www.musicalamerica.com
Opera Base www.operabase.com
Opera News www.operanews.com
Opera Now www.rhinegold.co.uk/magazines/...
Operatic Vocal Competition https://www.google.com/...
Stuff for Singers www.operastuff.com

The Lied and Art Song
text page

www.lieder.net/lieder/index.html
Vocal Competitions List of classical music competitions
World of Opera http://worldofopera.org/
 
Back to top of current page
             
  Support IVAI
  Home | About | Programs | Faculty | Alumni | Application | Contact | Gallery | Links | Notes from IVAI (PDF)

IVAI - International Vocal Arts Institute, 119 West 72nd Street, #313, New York, NY 10023
E-mail:info@ivai.org


© Copyright 2017. International Vocal Arts Institute. All rights reserved.
For Notes from IVAI, please send
your udpates to Lynn Warshow
  
 
Follow IVAI on Facebook